Our Fortress

Well as we finished the first lesson of our new series (Feeling Secure in a Troubled World) I was still digesting the principles we discussed. The richness of the 1st chapter in Ephesians is overwhelming to say the least. To think that we are already blessed with “every spiritual blessing” 1:3, is too much to comprehend. God has such an overpowering love for us and yet we still get so anxious when things don’t go as we think they should. With the economy in the state it is in, it is easy to get overwhelmed with all the bad news. That is why it is so important that we focus on our position in Christ.
One of my favorite stories about Peter was when he was in the boat going across the sea of Galilee when the unthinkable happened.

Matthew 14.25 During the fourth watch of the night Jesus went out to them, walking on the lake. Matthew 14.26 When the disciples saw him walking on the lake, they were terrified. “It’s a ghost,” they said, and cried out in fear.
Matthew 14.27 But Jesus immediately said to them:“Take courage! It is I. Don’t be afraid.”
Matthew 14.28 “Lord, if it’s you,” Peter replied, “tell me to come to you on the water.”

Matthew 14.29 “Come,” he said. Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus. Matthew 14.30 But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!”
Matthew 14.31 Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?”” (Matthew 14.22-31 NIV)

You may be critical of Peter because he began to sink but do not forget that he was the only one to get out of the boat to start with. His failure began when he “saw the wind” in other words he took his eye off of Jesus.
That is what our series is about, our need to focus on our Lord, not our problems.
Christ has made so many promises to his children we simply need to read some of them.
Here are a few;

“The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge. He is my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.
Psalms 28.8
The LORD is the strength of his people, a fortress of salvation for his anointed one. Psalms 31.2
Turn your ear to me, come quickly to my rescue; be my rock of refuge, a strong fortress to save me. Psalms 31.3
Since you are my rock and my fortress, for the sake of your name lead and guide me.
Psalms 46.7
The LORD Almighty is with us; the God of Jacob is our fortress. Selah
Psalms 46.11
The LORD Almighty is with us; the God of Jacob is our fortress. Selah Psalms 48.3
God is in her citadels; he has shown himself to be her fortress.Psalms 59.9
O my Strength, I watch for you; you, O God, are my fortress, Psalms 59.16

We need to believe He is who He says He is.

Heb 11.5-6 6 And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him.

Keep up with your homework and be thinking about the two class projects for the year.
What are your thoughts????

God’s best to you all.
Paul

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

